#MyFitDiary HIIT Cardio | May 16th, 2015

Hello!

This is my first entry in #MyFitDiary, yay!  This is going to be a run down of my workouts and how I was feeling so I will be able to come back months from now and see how far I’ve come.  I’ll admit I am not the strongest person, but I’m going to be!  Whether that takes months or years.  I plan on doing a rundown of my current fitness level soon so you all can see where I am starting.

This weekend I have been doing two workouts a day (yes, I have a lot of free time).  I am breaking them down into cardio and lifting, this way I am not exhausted and I have the energy to give both aspects my all.

What is HIIT cardio?
Well, Google tells me, “High Intensity Interval Training involves alternating between very intense bouts of exercise and low intensity exercise. For example, sprinting for 30 seconds, then walking for 60 seconds is high intensity interval training.”

Why do HIIT cardio?
HIIT cardio gets your heart beat pumping, simple as that.  The higher your heart rate the more likely to hit the “fat burning zone” which is when your heart is about to jump out of your chest.  (yes, there heart rate monitors that can give you exact heart rates but we’re not that fancy yet) The use of intervals allows you to keep your heart rate up for longer times in comparison to steady state cardio.  Bonus: This form of working out allows for your body to burn more calories for up to 24 hours after interval training, which is not something that will happen when you do steady state.

My HIIT cardioIMG_2704
Today I did the stair machine, as I always do.  My break down was: 30 seconds at the setting on 60, and then 30 seconds of the setting on 90.  I did this for 10 minutes.  I felt like this was a good gap between the two, I was never going too slow that I didn’t feel it.  Sometimes it was hard to hit the 90 so I would be slightly under, which I am okay with.  When working out you need to understand that you’re there to benefit and work yourself not to hurt yourself.  If it feels like too much, then it probably is.  Listen to your body!

I was exhausted after and all it took was 10 minutes! And I was dripping in sweat.  Which was thanks to my new pre workout: C4.  I don’t want to get into that too much because I plan on doing a full post about it when I’ve had it for a little longer.

IMG_2705After the stair master I still have a pump and wanted to do more.  I went over to the arc trainer planning on doing more HIIT but ended up going hard for half a mile.  My biggest suggestion for cardio is bring something to do during it.  I am embarrassingly addicted to YouTube so I’ll pull up a video and go until it’s done.  I ended up going for half a mile and burning a little under 100 calories.  It felt great!  I’ve never been able to keep up this high level of cardio for so long.  THANK YOU C4!

Cardio doesn’t have to be something you hate.  It’s going to benefit you so much in the long run, so get out there and do it.  This only took me 15 minutes and I burned about 200 calories.  I will start increasing this and hopefully will be able to see results soon.

Leave a Reply

